Board of Directors

John Green, Q.C. (Interim Chair)

From a previous position with McInnes Cooper, John Green, Q.C., represented provincial, national and international clients, and a significant part of his practice has been in the oil and gas, mining and forestry sectors. He worked on general corporate and commercial law cases with a focus on mergers and acquisitions, securities and related matters. In securities matters, Mr. Green has represented venture capital investors, private placement companies and publicly listed issuers and has acted for underwriters. Mr. Green has been an active member of the Canadian Bar Association, the Law Society of Newfoundland and Labrador, and he has served as a member of the Canadian Bar Association’s National Executive. Mr. Green received a Bachelor of Arts from Memorial University of Newfoundland in 1966 and received a Bachelor of Laws Degree from Dalhousie University in 1969.

Donna Brewer

Donna Brewer began her career with the Provincial Government in 1987, serving most recently as Deputy Minister, Department of Finance. She has served in a variety of capacities during her tenure with the provincial public service, including Chief Executive Officer of the Labour Relations Agency; Deputy Minister responsible for Provincial Government programs; Assistant Deputy Minister (Financial Planning and Benefits Administration), Department of Finance; Assistant Secretary to Treasury Board; Assistant Deputy Minister (Corporate Services), Department of Health and Community Services; and Deputy Minister (Acting), Department of Health and Community Services. Ms. Brewer holds a Bachelor of Commerce (co-operative) honours degree from Memorial University, and a Chartered Accountant professional designation.

Chris Loomis

Dr. Christopher Loomis received his PhD from Queen’s University in 1983, where he served as assistant professor in the Departments of Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Anesthesia until 1987. He joined the School of Pharmacy of Memorial University as an associate professor in 1988, was appointed full professor in 1996, and became director of the School in 1998. He was appointed Vice-President (Research) of Memorial University in 2002, and renewed for a second term in 2007. He has also served as Vice-President (Academic) Pro Tempore, and President and Vice-Chancellor Pro Tempore of Memorial University. Dr. Loomis serves on the Board of Directors for the Labrador-Island Link Operating Corporation, a subsidiary of Nalcor Energy.

Heather M. Jacobs, Q.C.

Heather M. Jacobs, Q.C., served as Deputy Minister of the Department of Justice and Public Safety from September 2015 until her retirement from the public service in July 2017. She also served as an Assistant Deputy Minister in the Department of Justice and Public Safety from June 2006 to August 2015. Ms. Jacobs managed the Government Services Unit within the Civil Division of the Department of Justice from January 2002 to June 2006, and served as a solicitor in the Civil Division from 1988 to 2001. Ms. Jacobs received her Bachelor of Commerce (Honours) from Memorial University in 1984 and Bachelor of Laws degree from York University (Osgoode Hall) in 1987. Ms. Jacobs was appointed as Queen’s Counsel in 2015. Ms. Jacobs had been a practicing member of the Bar of Newfoundland and Labrador from 1988 to 2017.

Stan Marshall

Stan Marshall was named CEO, Nalcor Energy in April 2016. Previous to his time at Nalcor, he served as President and CEO and Director of the Board of Directors of Fortis.

Stan has held many senior executive positions throughout his career. His time with Fortis spanned 35 years and he was at the helm as President and CEO for more than 18 years.

Stan served as the Chairman of FortisBC Holdings Inc. (formerly, Terasen Inc.). He was a Director of Fortis Properties Corporation as well as a Director at FortisAlberta Inc., and FortisBC Inc. He has been Independent Director at Enerflex Ltd. since 2011 and he is Chair of its Human Resource Committee. He served as the Chief Executive Officer of Fortis Inc., Chairman of Central Hudson Gas & Electric Corp., Independent Director of Toromont Industries Ltd., Director of the Conference Board of Canada, Director of Maritime Electric Company, Limited, FortisOntario Inc., Belize Electricity Limited and also held Director roles with CH Energy Group and Caribbean Utilities Co. Ltd. Stan also served as the President at Fortis Turks and Caicos and was the Chief Operating Officer of Fortis Inc. He joined Newfoundland Power Inc., in 1979.

He is a retired member in good standing of the Law Society of Newfoundland and Labrador and a Registered Professional Engineer in the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador. Mr. Marshall holds a Bachelor of Applied Science Degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of Waterloo and Bachelor of Law from Dalhousie University.